Webinar: EU space data in action: supporting sustainable economic growth & a greener future for Africa

EU space data in action: supporting sustainable economic development & a greener future for Africa  

 

19 May 2022

(CEST): 1:30pm - 3:30pm

(UTC+3): 2:30pm - 4:30pm

(UTC+1): 12:30pm - 2:30pm

Following on from the successful demonstration of African-European collaboration during Africa-Europe week in February, the EU Global Action on Space is organising a webinar on May 19 2022 to present EU Space capabilities and solutions that can support African private and public sectors in building sustainable economic growth and a greener future in Africa. The webinar aims to position the EU as a strong partner for Africa and foster the growth of cooperation between the two continents in the field of Space.

Experts of the European Commission Directorate-General for Industry and Space (DG DEFIS) as well as local partners will provide their insights on available space data and its applications in the region.

Successful projects that make use of Galileo, the EGNOS Open Service (OS), and the Copernicus programme in Africa will be presented to provide concrete examples of how applications work and bring added value to their users and communities.

This online session will additionally be an occasion to present how to become a Copernicus Programme ambassador through the Copernicus Academy and Relays networks and the exciting opportunities that come with the position.

The webinar will aim at laying the groundwork for future cooperation and partnerships between the EU and African countries in the space domain.

Title image - Credit: European Union, Copernicus Sentinel-2 imagery